JS is OFF! COVENTRY UNITED F.C. | New Season, New Faces

New Season, New Faces

Date: 03 July 2019 at 20:14 by Liam Cook

Following the announcement of our retained list, we are pleased to reveal five new signings for the forthcoming season.


First, we welcome midfielder Aaron Williams. The dominant centre-mid made a sizeable impression on the United coaching staff in United’s victory at Romulus last season. Williams made 12 appearances in the second half of the season for the Roms, and brings an aggressive edge to the United mid section. MFL goal machine Luke Shorthouse arrives at the Butts Park Arena. The former Nuneaton Borough striker bagged 44 goals in 44 starts in his last MFL season for Nuneaton Griff in 2015/16. He is sure to bring bags of firepower to an increasingly creative attacking force.


Dan Smith makes the switch from Coventry City to Coventry United. The midfielder, who can also play further up the field, joins from the Sky Blues academy after playing with the likes of Tom Bayliss and Jordan Shipley. After an injury nightmare, he looks to get a consistent season under his belt. Adding more depth to the defensive options is Jake Saville. The 28 year old full-back arrives from Barwell, and will provide stiff competition for a starting place. And finally, say hello to Liam Cross. The centre-back moves from Barwell, having ended the season out on loan at MFL Division 1 side Hinckley AFC, making 12 appearances. He’ll be keeping Kyle Barnett and Lewis Ison on their toes for a spot in the matchday squad.


Here is our current 2019/20 squad ahead of our first pre-season friendly:


Dominik Alleyne – Winger

Joe Anthony – Defender

Archie Bale - Defender

Kyle Barnett - Defender

Sam Belcher - Midfielder

Joe Cairns - Forward

Kyle Carey - Winger

Brad Caswell – Goalkeeper

Liam Cross - Defender

Ethan Dacres - Midfielder

Luke Downes – Midfielder

Roberto Effah - Midfielder

Tyler Haddow - Forward

Jake Holt - Midfielder

Lewis Hudson – Defender

Brad Jones - Defender

Cameron Morris - Midfielder

Matteo Ninna – Goalkeeper

Jake Saville - Defender

Harry Sawyer – Defender

Luke Shorthouse – Striker

Dan Smith - Midfielder

Ethan Stanley - Defender

Ben Vallance - Defender

Aaron Williams - Midfielder